MOTIVATION REJECTED

It’s proven over and over again that one of the greatest obstacles to achieving any goal is motivation.  What is motivation? Where does it come from? It’s different for each and every one of us. Can we sustain large amounts of motivation for long periods of time without succumbing to exhaustion? What does it take to realize an actual thought or idea? What’s the difference between those who “make it” and those who don’t? Why do most give up on their dreams before even beginning? When I was a young boy, I wanted to be a professional basketball player. That’s what I wanted to do. I was extremely passionate about this idea of team work and strategy. I would spend hours upon hours out in my gravel filled driveway practicing my jump shot. (the sound of the basketball hitting the ground below) (the sound of the net swishing as the ball passes through) I really enjoyed the sport and I knew that I wanted to make a big difference within my community through the game of basketball. I was so excited and thrilled because I knew that I was going to be great one day. I just knew it! I was so excited in fact that I began to share my thrill and passion with friends and a few adults. Expecting encouragement and support, I was met with alternate views and pessimism. “Why do you want to do that? You should become a mechanic or drive trucks.  “Now…..now, you need to be realistic! You need to get a real job! Basketball is not in your future!” I really loved basketball and I didn’t care what they said but over time, the comments and the relentless redirection from others eventually began to wear on me and I gave up on my dream altogether. This story doesn’t just happen in our childhood but it happens out on the streets of society too. We all have goals and when we get excited about something we want to share it. And nearly everytime we approach someone with this new found excitement, we leave disappointed and discouraged; so much so that we change our minds and give up on that dream altogether.  The main purpose of this story is to highlight the different elements of motivation and, if we’re not careful, how we can end up in a never ending vicious cycle of setting goals and not following through because of one distraction after another. We must be more vigilant about what holds us back from reaching our greatest potential. Even though this is only one example of how motivation and ambitions can be lost, there are many different ways that we can be misled and distracted from our purpose in life.  What’s one example of how you struggled with motivation and what was your goal? What are some of the things that you do to stay motivated? I would like to hear from you guys/gals……so please, feel free to comment…….

One thought on “MOTIVATION REJECTED

Leave a Reply

